Hidden

I met you on the first day,

The only one with a soft curve for a smile, and

The softest eyes for a soul.

Your large, warm hands grabbed mine

With eagerness; your lips declaring with

Utmost clarity, how glad you were to meet me.

I believed you, that first day.

I felt myself getting lost,

In the vivid way you talked about your dreams,

And there went my heart, fluttering away.

I paid no heed to the warning signs,

To the crooked smile you often bestowed on me,

To the hurried glances you often sent my way,

To the hidden meanings behind a number of your ways.

I grappled along with your unsung promises,

Only meant to flater but not deliver.

And when it was over, and I lay in meshes at your feet,

The layer of trust in my broken heart, was

Still higher than the walls of faith

You chose to shatter.

 

2 thoughts on “Hidden

Leave a Reply

