Sail Away

I stretch, my fingers aching at,

The remnants of your touch,

The mealstrom in the air which

Your presence awakened.

I yearn, a mighty feeling which

Rises from the pit of my stomach,

It flares and burns, each time

You turn my way.

I despair, clawing at my skin,

The marks on flesh not as deep

As the wounds on my heart,

Your sailing away gave birth to.

I falter, my cheeks often stained,

With the red of roses,

My head dizzy and heart fluttering,

Which the memory of your smile led to.

I sigh, my mind whirring over lost times,

And unfinished sentences,

A soft smile yet creeps up my lips,

For all the dreams you gave birth to.

Leave a Reply

