A Change of Heart

Just because I liked the sunshine once,

Doesn’t mean I can’t strive toward the fire now

Just because I yearned the drizzle once,

Doesn’t mean I can’t head into the torrent now.

Just because I stumbled blindly across wide lawns once,

Doesn’t mean I can’t make my way across the forest

Just because the red paint pleased me once,

Doesn’t mean I can’t plunge the black and make something out of it.

Just because the wind thrilled me once,

Doesn’t mean I don’t greet the breeze anymore,

And wind and breeze, and fire and sun,

Drizzle and torrent, and black and red,

Are all pretty much the sides of the same coin.

Just because I enjoyed one of the sides once,

Doesn’t mean I can’t embrace the other.

//This is my first poem and it kinda sucks but I’ve been in a writing mood lately and just trying out different styles and types. Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “A Change of Heart

Leave a Reply

