Movies I’ve Been Watching Lately

I’ve been in a big, crazy ‘let’s watch as many movies as I can! Coz who cares about school right!?’ mood and the number of movies I’ve watched in the last two weeks is an embarrassing number for someone who has her 12th grade Boards in less than a year. And I’m going to admit straight up that I’m a huge movie buff but I don’t actually watch that many movies. I’m usually just so busy with school and books and writing that the occasional trips to the theatre have become rare now, and it was almost unheard and unseen of me to download movies on my laptop to watch. But, things have been changing! 😀 I’ve been watching more and more movies, and I’m hoping all this stops soon and I get into some kind of study mode otherwise I’m in trouble 😦

So, I’m going to jump right in!

[Note : I’m very uncritical and easy when it comes to giving stars to movie, as opposed to books which I’m critical about. With movies, unless the movie is really bad, I usually give at least a 3.]

Animated movies :

My sister and me have been in a Disney movie kick lately and we ended up watching a few of these over the last weekend.

Tangled (re-watch)

A lost princess and a thief on the run – this is the amazing story of Rapunzel and Eugene learning the values of friendship, love, freedom, family and most importantly, chasing one’s dreams. With beautiful animations, beautiful music and beautiful hair, this is easily the best Disney movie I’ve watched, after Lion King.

My Rating : 5/5 stars

Beauty and the Beast

Though this movie is old, its magic isn’t and the values hidden in this story are gems. The only problem I had with this movie was that Belle wasn’t really a ‘beauty’ 😛 In fact, I liked the Beast more than the Beauty. But nevertheless, it’s a beautiful, classical movie.

My Rating : 4/5 stars

Aladdin

The villain in this story is SO freaking cool!! This was another amazing movie, and though I wasn’t much of a fan of the music, I loved the animation, the villain and the romance between Aladdin and Jasmine.

My Rating : 4/5 stars

Frozen (re-watch)

I’ve always felt the same watching this movie, and now that I’ve watched a couple of other Disney films, I know for sure that Frozen is nothing near the other Disney movies. It’s a good film, but it’s highly over-rated.

My Rating : 3.5/5 stars

Non- animated :

The Danish Girl

This is the first movie I’ve watched which deals with sex change, and it was shockingly sad and beautiful. Eddy Redmayne’s acting is wonderful, and the movie provides a stark portrayal of the an artist who suddenly realises he was meant to be a girl, and his supportive, loving wife standing with him throughout the journey. Amazing.

My Rating : 4/5 stars

Carol

This movie deals with Carol, a woman who falls in love with another woman much younger than her. Though the subject matter is interesting, the main problem I had with this movie was that it was boring. It was slow-paced and overall, couldn’t really hold my attention.

My Rating : 3/5 stars

Brooklyn

This movie was amazing. It’s the story of a young girl who leaves her family and goes to Brooklyn, and falls in love with an Italian man she meets there.

My Rating : 4/5 stars

Spotlight

We need more movies like these. This was thrilling, exciting and at the same time, just sad. It’s a real story based on a core team of journalists who investigate a case of priests molesting children. Absolutely amazing performance by Mark Ruffalo,Michael Keaton and Rachel McAdams.

My Rating : 5/5 stars

The Imitation Game

HOLY SHIT THIS WAS BRILLIANT! This is a biopic of Alan Turing, who invented a machine to crack the Enigma, which was previously assumed to be unbreakable. It’s a crazy, fast-paced movie and once you begin watching, you won’t be able to turn your eyes away.

My Rating : 5/5 stars

Joy

This was kind of a disappointment, especially because it’s Jennifer Lawrence and you expect the best from her. But this movie was surprisingly boring and didn’t impact me as much as most biopics do.

My Rating : 3.5/5 stars

Love, Rosie

This movie is based on Cecelia Ahern’s novel (Where Rainbows End) and is one of those random love stories which just involves misunderstandings and misunderstandings and misunderstandings. Yet, I did love it, it’s good time pass, good for a one-time-watch and just overall enjoyable.

My Rating : 4/5 stars

Crazy, Stupid Love (re-watch)

I have no idea why I re-watched this because I never really liked it the first time I watched it either. It was coming on tv and I was bored so I thought, why not? Needless to say, I didn’t like it this time either.

My Rating : 2.5/5 stars

Bollywood :

Kapoor and Sons

My family and me just watched this last night in the theatre and it’s been getting all the hype now. I thought the film was pretty mediocre, a random family drama with issues which Indian films don’t portray that often, which is the only reason I liked the movie. Some really good acting by Rishi Kapoor, Ratna Pathak, Rajat Kapoor and Fawad Khan (how can someone be THAT handsome!?) but on the other side, terrible character and performance of Alia Bhatt. Siddharth Malhotra didn’t have any impact though he’s pretty good-looking too.

My Rating : 3/5 stars


 

So those were all the movies I watched in the last couple of weeks. Spot any favorites? Comment down below!

2 thoughts on “Movies I’ve Been Watching Lately

  1. theworldisnotagainstme says:

    I really enjoyed reading this post. And, I know. It should be illegal for people to be that handsome. I’ve been smitten with him since I watched Khoobsurat.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

